Four New Harry Potter Books by J.K. Rowling Released Next Month | 22 Words

Calling all Harry Potter fans! You're in for a treat! J.K Rowling has recently announced the release of four new books based on the wizarding world. The first two of the four books are to be revealed on Pottermore, the "digital heart" of all muggles, on June 27th and we're all pretty damn excited!

After the final book was published in 2007, over 10 years ago, Rowling's announcement has peaked the interest of every single Harry Potter fanatic and we just can't wait for the first glimpse of the new books!

I can assure you, they're not going to be just any average read.


Harry Potter can be considered one of the most popular series of books to ever grace our shelves and they were all brought to life as major motion pictures, taking the entire world by storm. First released in 2001, the first film became the stepping stone for the release of eight more movies, telling the story of Harry Potter and his wizard friends.

We found ourselves becoming obsessed with everything associated with the franchise, wanting to see how all the characters developed over the course of the story.


Rowling created a complex world that we all wanted to be part of. It's hard to believe that she was rejected over and over again with that killer storyline!

And it was turned into a play, too!

via: Getty Images

Her latest venture into the world of theatre saw a two-part stage play written by Jack Thorne based on an original story by Thorne, J. K. Rowling and John Tiffany. It was called Harry Potter and the Cursed Child and told the story of the original characters and their children after The Deathly Hallows.

After all the amazing Harry Potter content that already exists, we can't believe there's even more to come!


Rowling's announcement on May 24th sent waves of excitement throughout the muggle world. Pottermore Publishing is going to be releasing four new Harry Potter books in the following month!

And Twitter is going crazy over the announcement!

One user couldn't believe the news. I don't blame them, at first, neither could I!

Rowling gave us little hints as to what the books will be about via Pottermore.

via: Getty Images

The new non-fiction series was inspired by its companion books, Harry Potter: A History of Magic. They will be released as short eBooks, centerd around the lessons taught at Hogwarts including, "Charms," "Defence Against the Dark Arts," (which is my personal favorite), "Potions," "Divination" and many more!

Just when we thought that it was all over...

via: Getty Images

The Harry Potter books that have already been published, from Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone to Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, all mention these lessons, but they don't go into too much detail about each one and why they exist. This series aims to delve deeper into the history of Hogwarts and the magic that it possesses.

Excited? So are we!


The academic side of the school is extremely important and these new books will be perfect for giving us more of an insight into the lessons that were able to aid the students in defeating He Who Must Not Be Named.

They are said to be the perfect read for the train or "whatever muggle transport you prefer."

via: Getty Images

According to Pottermore, the "bitesize reads" are "adapted from the audiobook and are a chance to absorb the colourful characters and curious a more compact form." Let's take a quick look at the books for all of you that can't wait any longer!

1. Harry Potter: A Journey Through Charms and Defence Against the Dark Arts


The first book is based on "Charms" and "Defence Against the Dark Arts". If you're a massive Potterhead, you'll already know what these two lessons consist of. "Charms" is a compulsory lesson for all students at Hogwarts. It consists of learning proper spell pronunciation and wand movements. "Defence Against the Dark Arts" or "D.A.D.A" is pretty self-explanatory. This is the lesson in which students prepped themselves to battle evil forces. Remember the scene with Professor Lupin and his wardrobe? It was an iconic scene that really defined D.A.D.A for me.

2. Harry Potter: A Journey Through Potions and Herbology


Then we have two subjects that go hand-in-hand: "Potions" and "Herbology". They are both based on understanding ingredients for brewing the perfect concoction.

3. Harry Potter: A Journey Through Divination and Astronomy


"Divination" and "Astronomy" both teach about methods of telling the future, or gathering insights into events, through various rituals. The combination of tea leaves and constellations may not sound threatening, but these lessons prepped students about signs and instincts.

4. Harry Potter: A Journey Through Care of Magical Creatures


Originally taught by Silvanus Kettleburn but later taken over by Hagrid, this lesson consists of learning about the beautiful beasts that exist in the Harry Potter world.

So, mark June 27th on your calendars!


It's going to be an extremely iconic date. The first two books will be released and they'll soon be followed by the final two. If you're ready to delve deeper into the magical workings of Hogwarts, keep your eyes peeled for these new releases! The eBooks will launch in English, French, Italian, and German initially, and are available to pre-order.

And if you really can't wait till then, we have something to keep you busy!


Everyone knows about Harry Potter's scar. It's the thing that defines him, but did you know it's not even supposed to be a lightning bolt? Find out what it's actually supposed to be right here!