Frank Ocean Releases New Songs on Streaming Services

Share on Facebook

Frank Ocean has firmly cemented himself as one of hip hop’s few unique creative forces – and racking up the huge fanbase to show for it.

4 years on from the release of his second studio album, Blond,  it looks like we’re in for some new music…

Keeps scrolling for all the details on the exciting news.

The singer-songwriter – born Christopher Edwin Breaux – is a huge figure in the contemporary hip hop scene, going on to become one of the industry’s rare unique creative forces.

Ocean started out by ghostwriting music for famous stars. He has penned tracks for the likes of Justin Bieber and Beyoncé – so we’re not talking mediocre talent here.

His work with Odd Future, and in particular with fellow hip-hop powerhouse, Tyler, The Creator, spurred on his own songwriting.

His breakout mixtape, nostalgia, ULTRA, achieved widespread critical acclaim

He released the tracks as a free download on his Tumblr site, without Def Jam’s knowledge – claiming that his move came because the label had not been supportive of his efforts after signing him.

And nostalgia, ULTRA was closely followed by the star’s debut album, channel orange. 

And the album was released under the label for download on iTunes on July 10, 2012. Sticking with tradition, Ocean also made the album available on his Tumblr site.

It shot to number 1 on the Top Albums chart, and most notably, went on to bag the 2013 Grammy Award for best urban contemporary album.

And of course, we can’t forget that it gave us the smash hit single “Thinkin’ Bout You.”

The star delivered hit after hit, and that was certainly no exception when it came to his second studio album.

4 years after the landmark Channel orange, Ocean dropped Blond in 2016.

And, just as we all expected, it shot to the top of the charts.

And his chart-topping success has made him one of the hottest properties in music.

But, since the release of Blond

Things have been fairly scarce on the music front.

But the star has been releasing singles.

Ocean dropped singles “In My Room” and “DHL” in late 2019.

Back in October, the star debuted 2 new tracks at his PrEP+ club night in NYC.

Especially seen as neither of the tracks had made it onto streaming services.

Last week, fans were able to order 7-inch vinyls of the tracks, which also featured remixes from Justice and Sango – which appear to have just arrived.

It seemed like we’d never get the chance to listen.

The acoustic versions of both songs, “Cayendo” and “Dear April,” have now been uploaded to streaming services. This really couldn’t have come at a better time… happy listening! Eminem recently released new music, although one of the tracks is causing a serious stir. Keep scrolling for the full story…